Compare Sound Level Meters
7 sound level meters side by side, with their published specs and typical prices. Our picks come first; our sound level meters guide explains why we chose them.
We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Published Updated
All Sound Level Meters
Spec Sheet Score (0–10): Based only on published specs like protection ratings and features. It doesn't measure sound, comfort, or fit, so it isn't our recommendation. How we calculate the spec sheet score
Showing all 7 products
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
| REED R8050Top Pick | 4.4 | Not yet tested | Class 2 | 1.4 | 30 | 130 | A, C | Fast, Slow | No | None | Yes | $150–190£130–200View on Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Extech SL510Pocket Pick | 4.8 | Not yet tested | Class 2 | 1 | 35 | 130 | A, C | Fast, Slow | No | None | Yes | $190–230£180–250View on Amazon |
| PCE-322ABest for Noise Complaints | 6.1 | Not yet tested | Class 2 | 1.4 | 30 | 130 | A, C | Fast, Slow | No | Internal logger | Yes | $250–300£175–215View on Amazon |
| Extech SDL600 | 6.1 | Not yet tested | Class 2 | 1.4 | 30 | 130 | A, C | Fast, Slow | No | SD card logger | Yes | $450–600£450–700View on Amazon |
| Extech SL250W | 2.4 | Not yet tested | Not stated | 1.5 | 30 | 130 | A | Fast, Slow | No | App (Bluetooth) | Yes | $90–130£90–120View on Amazon |
| UNI-T UT352 | 2.4 | Not yet tested | Not stated | 1.5 | 30 | 130 | A, C | Fast, Slow | No | Manual memory | Yes | $90–150£70–100View on Amazon |
| Extech 407730 | 0.5 | Not yet tested | Not stated | 2 | 40 | 130 | A, C | Fast, Slow | No | None | Yes | $90–130£90–110View on Amazon |
| No products match these filters. | ||||||||||||
How We Calculate the Spec Sheet Score
we use only what each maker publishes. The accuracy class counts most (weight 4): a named IEC 61672–1 Class 1 scores 10, Class 2 scores 7, a claim that cites only the old IEC 651 standard scores 4, and no class claim scores 0. Stated accuracy at 1 kHz (weight 2) runs from ±2 dB (0 points) to ±1 dB (10).
Leq, the average level most noise guidance uses, is worth 2. Recording is worth 2: a timed logger (internal or SD card) scores 10, a Bluetooth app 6, a small manual memory 3 and none 0. Frequency weightings (weight 1) score 0 for A only, 6 for A and C, and 10 when Z is included.
The lowest reading (weight 1) runs from 40 dB (0) to 25 dB (10). Each factor gives 0 to 10 points and the score is the weighted average. If a maker does not publish a value, that factor is left out for that product and the other weights are rescaled; a missing class claim is the exception and scores 0, because it tells you the maker does not claim to meet the standard.
Price is not part of the score. If a product's published specs cover less than 60% of the total weight, its score is marked "limited data" and it is listed after the products with fuller data.
| Factor | Weight | How It Scores |
|---|---|---|
| Accuracy Class | 4 | The class is the only standardised measure of a meter's accuracy across frequency and level. 'Not stated' scores 0 rather than being left out, because the absence of any class claim is itself published information; a claim citing only the superseded IEC 651 standard sits between. |
| Stated Accuracy | 2 | ±2 dB scores 0, ±1 dB scores 10. PCE states only class tolerances for the PCE-428/430, so the factor is left out for them. |
| Leq | 2 | Leq is the figure noise guidance uses. |
| Recording | 2 | Timed logging is what a noise record needs; an app is useful but depends on a phone staying connected. |
| Frequency Weightings | 1 | C adds low-frequency and peak checks; Z adds unweighted measurement. |
| Lowest Reading | 1 | A lower floor matters for quiet bedrooms at night; 40 dB scores 0, 25 dB or lower scores 10. |
- Tested Score: our own score from a hands-on review. It says "Not yet tested" until we've tested that product.
- Limited Data: the maker publishes under 60% of the specs we score, so the score rests on fewer numbers. These products are listed after the rest.
- Pro Reference: a professional model, far above the others on price, shown for comparison.
- Prices: typical ranges when we checked, not live prices. Amazon's price can differ.
Sources
Every spec comes from the maker's own product page, spec sheet, or manual. A spec shows as "Not published" when the maker doesn't state it.
- REED R8050: reedinstruments.com
- Extech SL510: extech.com, farnell.com
- PCE-322A: pce-instruments.com
- Extech SDL600: extech.com
- Extech SL250W: extech.com
- UNI-T UT352: meters.uni-trend.com
- Extech 407730: extech.com